

## German History in Documents and Images

Volume 8. Occupation and the Emergence of Two States, 1945-1961 Protocol on Zones of Occupation and the Administration of "Greater Berlin" (September 12, 1944)

It was at the Casablanca Conference in early 1943 that U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt first announced to the public that the aim of the war was Germany's unconditional surrender. Over the following eighteen months, the three leading Allies – the United States, Great Britain, and the Soviet Union – gave concrete form to their plans for the government and administration of postwar Germany. The protocol of September 12, 1944, limited Germany's territory to its 1937 borders, that is, to its borders prior to the annexation of Austria and the Sudeten region. The protocol also called for the establishment of three occupation zones, which were to be administered separately. These zones were to follow existing administrative boundaries (except in the case of Prussia, which was to be split up) and to take population size into account. Additionally, the Allies agreed on the joint administration of the capital of Berlin by an allied *Komendatura*. While the occupation of both the "Eastern Zone" and the northeastern part of Berlin by Soviet forces had already been finalized, the allocation of the "North-Western Zone," the "South-Western Zone," and the northwestern and southern parts of Berlin still remained formally open.

Protocol between the governments of the United States of America, the United Kingdom, and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, on the zones of occupation in Germany and the administration of "Greater Berlin"

The Governments of the United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics have reached the following agreement with regard to the execution of Article 11 of the Instrument of Unconditional Surrender of Germany:

- 1. Germany, within her frontiers as they were on the 31st December, 1937, will, for the purposes of occupation, be divided into three zones, one of which will be allotted to each of the three Powers, and a special Berlin area, which will be under joint occupation by the three Powers.
- 2. The boundaries of the three zones and of the Berlin area, and the allocation of the three zones as between the U.S.A., the U.K. and the U.S.S.R. will be as follows:

Eastern Zone [ . . . ]: The territory of Germany (including the province of East Prussia) situated to the East of a line drawn from the point on Lübeck Bay where the frontiers of Schleswig-

Holstein and Mecklenburg meet, along the western frontier of Mecklenburg to the frontier of the province of Hanover, thence, along the eastern frontier of Hanover, to the frontier of Brunswick; thence along the western frontier of the Prussian province of Saxony to the western frontier of Anhalt; thence along the western frontier of Anhalt; thence along the western frontier of the Prussian province of Saxony and the western frontier of Thuringia to where the latter meets the Bavarian frontier; then eastwards along the northern frontier of Bavaria to the 1937 Czechoslovakian frontier, will be occupied by armed forces of the U.S.S.R., with the exception of the Berlin area, for which a special system of occupation is provided below.

North-Western Zone [ . . . ]: The territory of Germany situated to the west of the line defined above, and bounded on the south by a line drawn from the point where the western frontier of Thuringia meets the frontier of Bavaria; thence westwards along the southern frontiers of the Prussian provinces of Hessen-Nassau and Rheinprovinz to where the latter meets the frontier of France will be occupied by armed forces of \* \* \* [asterisks appear in original]

South-Western Zone [ . . . ]: All the remaining territory of Western Germany situated to the south of the line defined in the description of the North-Western Zone will be occupied by armed forces of \* \* \* [asterisks appear in original]

The frontiers of States (Länder) and Provinces within Germany, referred to in the foregoing descriptions of the zones, are those which existed after the coming into effect of the decree of 25th June, 1941 (published in the Reichsgesetzblatt, Part I, No. 72, 3rd July, 1941).

Berlin Area [ . . . ]: The Berlin area (by which expression is understood the territory of "Greater Berlin" as defined by the Law of the 27th April, 1920) will be jointly occupied by armed forces of the U.S.A., U.K., and U.S.S.R., assigned by the respective Commanders-in-Chief. For this purpose the territory of "Greater Berlin" will be divided into the following three parts:—

North-Eastern part of "Greater Berlin" (districts of Pankow, Prenzlauerberg, Mitte, Weissensee, Friedrichshain, Lichtenberg, Treptow, Köpenick) will be occupied by the forces of the U.S.S.R.

North-Western part of "Greater Berlin" (districts of Reinickendorf, Wedding, Tiergarten, Charlottenburg, Spandau, Wilmersdorf) will be occupied by the forces of \* \* \* [asterisks appear in original]

Southern part of "Greater Berlin" (districts of Zehlendorf, Steglitz, Schoneberg, Kreuzberg, Tempelhof, Neukölln) will be occupied by the forces of \* \* \* [asterisks appear in original]

The boundaries of districts within "Greater Berlin", referred to in the foregoing descriptions, are those which existed after the coming into effect of the decree published on 27<sup>th</sup> March, 1938 (Amtsblatt der Reichshauptstadt Berlin No. 13 of 27th March, 1938, page 215).

- 3. The occupying forces in each of the three zones into which Germany is divided will be under a Commander-in-Chief designated by the Government of the country whose forces occupy that zone.
- 4. Each of the three Powers may, at its discretion, include among the forces assigned to occupation duties under the command of its Commander-in-Chief, auxiliary contingents from the forces of any other Allied Power which has participated in military operations against Germany.
- 5. An Inter-Allied Governing Authority (Komendatura) consisting of three Commandants, appointed by their respective Commanders-in-Chief, will be established to direct jointly the administration of the "Greater Berlin" Area.
- 6. This Protocol has been drawn up in triplicate in the English and Russian languages. Both texts are authentic. The Protocol will come into force on the signature by Germany of the Instrument of Unconditional Surrender.

The above text of the Protocol between the Governments of the United States of America, the United Kingdom and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, on the zones of occupation in Germany and the administration of "Greater Berlin" has been prepared and unanimously adopted by the European Advisory Commission at a meeting held on 12th September, 1944, with the exception of the allocation of the North-Western and South-Western zones of occupation in Germany and the North-Western and Southern parts of "Greater Berlin," which requires further consideration and joint agreement by the Governments of the U.S.A., U.K. and U.S.S.R.

Representative of the Government of the U.S.A. on the European Advisory Commission: John G. Winant

Representative of the Government of the U.K. on the European Advisory Commission: William Strang

Representative of the Government of the U.S.S.R. on the European Advisory Commission: F. T. Gousev

LANCASTER HOUSE, LONDON, S.W. 1. 12th September, 1944.

Source: Protocol on Zones of Occupation and the Administration of the "Greater Berlin" Area (September 12, 1944); reprinted in *Documents on Germany, 1944-1959: Background Documents on Germany, 1944-1959, and a Chronology of Political Developments affecting Berlin, 1945-1956.* Washington, DC: General Printing Office, 1959, pp. 1-3.